Myopia Research Group

The School of Optometry and Vision Science is at the forefront of research and education in the development and management of myopia. Myopia is increasing in prevalence worldwide and is expected to affect up to 50% of the global population by 2050. 

The Myopia Research Group is involved in a variety of cutting-edge basic science and clinical trial research investigating various aspects of myopia including identifying risk factors and genetic profiles associated with myopia development, the impact of myopia on quality of life, risk of development of associated diseases and interventions to slow the progression or prevent myopia development.  Speciality techniques and equipment facilitating our research include:

  • Ocular biometer – IOLMaster
  • Corneal topography – Medmont topographer and Oculus Keratograph
  • Objective Refraction – Shin-Nippon open field autorefractor
  • Automated Pupillometry – NeurOptics pupillometer
  • Optical Coherence Tompographer – Nidek OCT
  • Wide field imaging - Optomap

The Myopia Control Clinic at the UNSW Optometry Clinic is a referral clinic for patients within the community for evidence-based myopia management and allows for research to be put directly into practice. Treatment options include: 

  • Orthokeratology
  • Low dose atropine
  • Multifocal soft contact lenses
  • Speciality spectacle designs
  • Environmental and behavioural modifications

Our Researchers

Associate Professor Isabelle Jalbert

Role: Associate Professor

Phone: +61 2 9385 9816
Email: i.jalbert@unsw.edu.au
Office: Room 3.029 Rupert Myers Building (North Wing) UNSW, Kensington 2052

Associate Professor Blanka Golebiowski

Role: Associate Professor

Phone: +61 2 9385 4502
Email: b.golebiowski@unsw.edu.au
Office: Room 3.005 Rupert Myers Building (North Wing) UNSW, Kensington 2052

Dr Kathleen Watt

Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +61 2 9385 4639

Email: kathleen.watt@unsw.edu.au

Office: Optometry Clinic, Rupert Myers Building (North wing) UNSW Kensington 2052

Dr Alex Hui

Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +61 2 9385 9228
Email: alex.hui@unsw.edu.au
Office: Room 3.059 Rupert Myers Building (North Wing) UNSW, Kensington 2052

Dr Pauline Kang

Role: Senior Lecturer

Phone: +61 2 9385 9230

Email: p.kang@unsw.edu.au

Office: Room 3.055 Rupert Myers Building (North Wing) UNSW, Kensington 2052

Dr Nayuta Yoshioka

Role: Lecturer

Phone: +61 2 9385 9230

Email: n.yoshioka@unsw.edu.au

Office: Rupert Myers Building (North Wing) UNSW, Kensington 2052

Rebecca Dang

Role: Staff Optometrist

Phone: +61 2 9385 4624

Email: r.dang@unsw.edu.au

Office:Optometry Clinic, Rupert Myers Building (North wing) UNSW Kensington 2052

Amanda Lea

Role: Staff Optometrist

Phone: +61 2 9385 4624

Email: amanda.lea@unsw.edu.au

Office: Optometry Clinic, Rupert Myers Building (North wing) UNSW Kensington 2052

Contact Us

For all enquiries, please contact:

Dr Pauline Kang

Phone: +61 2 9385 9230

Email: p.kang@unsw.edu.au

Office: Room 3.055 Rupert Myers Building (North Wing) UNSW, Kensington 2052